IndyCar Gains Two New Teams for 2025, Thanks To PREMA Racing and Chevrolet

Joe Portlock/F1/Getty Images

When the season-opening Firestone Grand Prix of St. Petersburg takes the green flag March 9 of 2025, two new cars will debut in the NTT IndyCar series. They’ll be fielded by PREMA, an Italian team that was founded in 1983 by Angelo Rosin.

PREMA, with more than 80 titles in multiple series, may be the best open-wheel organization that you’ve never heard of.

FIA Formula 3 European Championship
Angelo Rosin (R) of Prema RacingHoch Zwei/Corbis/Getty Images

Though PREMA may not yet have raced in Formula 1 or IndyCar, graduates of the multiple ladder-type series that PREMA competes in certainly have. Those series include FIA Formula 2, Formula 3, Formula 4, the GP2 series, and other championship series that race in Europe and Asia.

And those drivers include F1 world champion and Indianapolis 500 winner Jacques Villeneuve, and IndyCar racers like Ryan Briscoe, Felix Rosenqvist, Marcus Armstrong and Callum Ilott. In F1, PREMA grads include Charles Leclerc, Oscar Piastri, Esteban Ocon and Pierre Gasly. The team is the partner of choice for every Formula 1 driver development program.

F2 Grand Prix of Belgium Prema Leclerc
Charles Leclerc for Prema Racing at the FIA Formula 2 Championship at Circuit de Spa-Francorchamps on August 26, 2017 in Spa, Belgium.Xavier Bonilla/NurPhoto/Getty Images

PREMA already has a deal with Chevrolet for use of its new, 2.2-liter twin-turbocharged hybrid V-6 engine, and it’s building a “brand-new, state of-the-art facility” in the Indianapolis area. The addition of PREMA will increase the IndyCar grid to 29 cars, and the Indianapolis 500 entry list to probably 35.

No drivers have been selected, but you can bet resumes have been rolling in. PREMA has long had a good eye for talent: Members of its racing family include Rinaldo Capello, Kamui Kobyashi, Lance Stroll, Mick Schumacher, Daniel Juncadella, Arthur Leclerc, Jamie Chadwick, Robert Kubica, Renger van der Zande, Enzo Fittipaldi, Sebastian Montoya, Eddie Cheever III, Ben Hanley, this year’s IMSA Mobil 1 Twelve Hours of Sebring winner, Louis Deletraz, and the lone American competing in F1, Logan Sargeant.

IndyCar will become the 12th series that PREMA currently participates in. PREMA also operates Lamborghini’s new SC63 GTP program, which just debuted at the IMSA Mobil 1 Twelve Hours at Sebring.

“PREMA Racing, with their global reach and extraordinary presence in open-wheel racing, will be a great addition to our growing and highly competitive paddock,” IndyCar President Jay Frye said.

“This new chapter will also be beneficial for PREMA Racing and its people, producing amazing learning opportunities and know-how transfer,” said Rene Rosin, team principal. “We want to thank IndyCar for the warm welcome and Chevrolet for supporting this project. We cannot wait to start operating in our new Indiana shop and get on track as soon as possible.”

Prema Indycar


Check out the Hagerty Media homepage so you don’t miss a single story, or better yet, bookmark it. To get our best stories delivered right to your inbox, subscribe to our newsletters.

Read next Up next: Passengers Now Welcome at Goodwood—Sort Of


    The car looks interesting. i’d like to know more about the Twin Turbo V6 Hybrid powerplant myself.

    For my money in upper tier racing IndyCar is currently the best to watch. With the mix of road, street and ovals, most always competitive. The only thing it suffers from is lack of viewers and consequently events. Hopefully the addition of PREMA and a bit of a up turn in F-1 interest here in the states will help. Unfortunately most will still be watching Talladega, waiting for the “big one” and then an endless series of restarts and commercials. Why don’t they just pull a number out of a hat? Just as likely as not to be the winner.

    (ps) at least the rerun of NHRA comes on after NASCAR, but I am getting tired of them breaking away and interviewing Tony Stewart because he cut a load fart .

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *