Hagerty Unveils Hall Of Fame Class Of 2014

Miss America IX

Charles Mistele, Matt Smith and Lyman Boat Owners Association come aboard

The doors are about to swing open for three new members of the Hagerty Marine Hall of Fame. In recognition of their positive contributions to the classic and collector boat lifestyle, the trio of Charles MisteleMatt Smith and the Lyman Boat Owners Association will be inducted into the Hall of Fame on Sept. 20 at the Skaneateles Country Club in Skaneateles, N.Y.

“It’s always a difficult decision for us because there are so many deserving candidates,” said Carla Gernhofer, vice president of Hagerty Marine. “But it’s fun to honor good people. That never gets old.”

Previous inductees into the Hagerty Marine Hall of Fame are: Bob Speltz, Dick Clarke and the Antique and Classic Boat Society (ACBS), 2009; Lou Rauh, Jim Shotwell and the father-son duo of Norm and Jim Wangard, 2010; Chris Smith, Al Schinnerer and Chuck Miklos, 2011; Tony Mollica, Ken MacStephen and the Antique Boat Museum, 2012; and Jean Hoffman, Syd Young and the Chris-Craft Antique Boat Club, 2013.

  • 1
  • /
  • 3


Share Leave comment
Read next Up next: Cruising with Cruise: Tom’s top five most memorable cars in film