1934 Voisin C-25 Aerodyne is named Best of Show at 2012 Dana Point Concours d’Elegance

Classic car enthusiasts in southern California were treated to a two-day celebration of automotive heritage at the 30th anniversary Dana Point Concours d’Elegance on June 23-24.

The event hosted a stunning field of cars at the St. Regis Monarch Beach Resort in Dana Point, Calif., including a 1934 Voisin C-25 Aerodyne that was named Best of Show. The “Legends of Le Mans: Racing in the ’60s” theme drew notable historic race cars, as well, including a Porsche 935 that won the 24-hour endurance race.

In addition to the concours, participants were treated to a private collection tour, a fine art exhibition, a flyover of six vintage airplanes and the inaugural Beach Cruisers car show.

As part of the celebration, the Dana Point Concours also honored 50 years of Shelby American. Notable Southern California Collector Bruce Meyer was recognized for his 1962 Shelby Cobra, which was the first production Cobra ever built; it placed first in the Shelby Cars class. Meyer was also honored during the weekend with the 2012 Dana Point Concours d’Elegance Automotive Icon Award for his ongoing work in the automotive industry and his passion for growing the hobby.

“I’m honored to receive the first Automotive Icon award from the Dana Point Concours,” said Meyer. “This event has a reputation as being a Concours for people who are as passionate about automobiles as I am.”

The Best of Show award in the motorcycle class went to a 1926 Brough Superior, while the 1934 Voisin C-25 Aerodyne from the collection of Peter and Merle Mullin was crowned the automotive Best of Show for its exceptional lines and remarkable details. Originally an airplane manufacturer, Frenchman Gabriel Voisin in the early 20th century turned his attention to building expensive, luxury automobiles known throughout the world for their innovation.

This year’s Featured Marque Award was presented to a 1956 Jaguar D-Type from the Legends of Le Mans Racecars class. Owned by Greg and Debbie Johnson of Irvine, Calif., the Jaguar captured the trophy because the English sports car best embodied the spirit of the Le Mans racers.

The 2012 Dana Point Concours d’Elegance honorary award recipients:

  • Chairman’s Classic Car Award: 1960 Porsche 356 Cabriolet (Kent and Carol Wilken)
  • Briggs Cunningham Award: 1920 Mercer Raceabout (Rick and Lucy Rawlins)
  • Catherine Thyen Award: 1913 Ford Model T (Pieter Dwinger)
  • Design Achievement Award (Closed): 1956 Maserati A6 G2000 Zagato (David and Ginny Sydorick)
  • Design Achievement Award (Open): 1962 Jaguar E-Type (Stephen Russell)
  • Honorary Judges Choice Award: 1934 Voisin C-25 Aerodyne (Peter and Merle Mullin)
  • Elegance Award, Pre-War Award: 1930 Cadillac 452 (Frederick Lax)
  • Elegance Award, Post-War Award: 1956 Lincoln Mark II (Tony Castellano)
  • Meguiar’s “Finish Fantastique” Award: 1933 Marmon Model 144 (Aaron and Valerie Weiss)

First place winners in each Concours class include:

  • Class 1 Antique and Vintage: 1913 Ford Model T (Pieter and Judi Dwinger)
  • Class 2a American Classics 1925-1948 Open: 1933 Marmon Model 144 (Aaron and Valerie Weiss)
  • Class 2b American Classics 1925-1948 Closed: 1930 Ruxton (Nethercutt Collection) 
  • Class 3a European Classics 1925-1948 Open: 1937 Mercedes-Benz 540K (Tony Vincent)
  • Class 3b European Classics 1925-1948 Closed: 1934 Voisin C-25 Aerodyne (Peter and Merle Mullin)
  • Class 6a American Luxury Touring Postwar to 1970: 1956 Lincoln MK II (Tony Castellano)
  • Class 6b European Luxury Touring Postwar to 1970: 1969 Mercedes-Benz 600 Limousine (Mercedes-Benz Classic Center)
  • Class 6c American Convertibles to 1970: 1960 Plymouth Fury convertible (Denny and Pat Grundy)
  • Class 7a Legends of Le Mans Race Cars to 1960 (display): 1959 Morgan (Dennis and Pamela Glavis)
  • Class 7b Legends of Le Mans Race Cars 1961 & later (display): 1971 Porsche 914-6 GT (Don and Carol Murray) 
  • Class 8 Woodies and Wagons to 1960 (authentic only): 1942 Mercury Station Wagon (Kelly Owen)
  • Class 9a Continental & Asian Sports Cars Postwar under 3 liter to 1972: 1956 Maserati A6 (David and Ginny Sydorick)
  • Class 9b Sports Cars Postwar over 3 Liters to 1984: 1966 Lamborghini 350GT (Malcolm Barksdale) 
  • Class 9c Custom Coachwork with American Drivetrains to 1980: 1959 Scaglietti Corvette Italia (Margie and Robert Petersen Collection) 
  • Class 9d British Sports Cars Postwar under 3 litres: 1960 Lotus Elite (William and Maritza Nighswonger)
  • Class 10a Mercedes-Benz 300SL: 1955 Mercedes-Benz 300SL (John La Barbera)
  • Class 10b Mercedes-Benz to 1979: 1953 Mercedes-Benz 300S Cabriolet (Arthur and Jeanne Hadley)
  • Class 11a  Ferrari (open): 1960 Ferrari 250 GT Cabriolet Series II (Andrew Alcazar)
  • Class 11b Ferrari (closed): 1960 Ferrari 250 GT Pininfarina (Paul & Sherrill Colony) 
  • Class 12 Mini/Micro Cars to 1970: 1964 Fiat 500D (Annetta and Robert Calisi)
  • Class 13a Jaguar XK-120 through XK-150: 1955 Jaguar XK 140 FHC (Geoffrey and Gayle Horton)
  • Class 13b Jaguar XKE: 1966 Jaguar E-Type OTS (Tom Krefetz)
  • Class 14a Shelby Cars (50th Anniversary Celebration): 1962 Shelby Cobra (Bruce Meyer)
  • Class 14b Shelby Mustangs (50th Anniversary Celebration): 1965 Shelby GT350 (Clyde and Janet Madsen)
  • Class 15 Race Cars: 1968 Dodge Hemi Dart, “Demented Dart” (Jim Mangione)
  • Class 16 American Muscle Cars 1960-1974: 1970 Chevelle SS396 (Joseph Salvo)
  • Class 17 Corvette through 1974: 1967 Chevrolet Corvette (Harry LeKites) 
  • Class 18a Porsche through 1965: 1956 Porsche 356A Speedster (Rick Johnson)
  • Class 18b Porsche 1966 and later: 1970 Porsche 911S (Bob Smith)
  • Class 19a Traditional Hot Rods to 1934: 1932 Ford Highboy Roadster (Richard Bennett)
  • Class 19b Kustoms 1935 to 1960: 1942 Willys Custom Pickup (Tami Lorenzen-Fanselow)
  • Class 19c 1932 Fords (special class for 80th Anniversary): 1932 Ford Phaeton (Donnie Crevier)
  • Class 24a American Production 1901-1929: 1947 Indian Chief (Rebecca and Richard Terrones)
  • Class 25a German Production 1904-1952: 1942 BMW R75 w/ sidecar (Ziggy and Lisa Dee)
  • Class 25c German Production 1965-1977: 1966 BMW R60/2 (Dan Reichel and Theresa Worsche)
  • Class 26a British Production 1904-1952: 1926 Brough Superior SS-100 (Vinnie Mandzak)
  • Class 26b British Production 1953-1964: 1956 Ariel Square 4 (James Shaffer)
  • Class 26c British Production 1965-1977: 1970 Triumph T100 C Trophy (Fred Stewart)
  • Class 27a Italian Production 1904-1952: 1952 Ceccato Turismo Sport (Teodoro Galelli)
  • Class 27b Italian Production 1953-1964: 1958 MV Agusta 250 cc Prototype (Vinnie Mandzak)
  • Class 27c Italian Production 1965-1967: 1966 Ducati Monza (David Alfonso)
  • Class 27d Italian Production 1968-1974: 1974 MV Augusta 750s (Simon Graham)
  • Class 28a Japanese Production 1957-1969: 1962 Honda CL72 250 Scrambler (Richard Bowers)
  • Class 28b Japanese Production 1970-1973: 1970 Honda CB750 K0 (Don Stockett)
  • Class 28c Japanese Production 1974-1977: 1974 Honda CB750K4 (Perry Edwards)
  • Class 29b Competition 1950-1968: 1964 Rickman/Matchless MK3-G80CS (Roger Riddell)
  • Class 29c Competition 1969-1976: 1973 Honda CR250M (Robert Cantarini)
  • Class 30a Café Racer 1950-1964: 1958 Ducati 175 SS Café Racer (Ana Sarmieto)
  • Class 30b Café Racer 1965-1977: 1966 Ducati Mach 2 (Eric Reeves)
  • Class 33a Preservation Prewar-1945: 1943 BMW R75 w/sidecar (Gerhard and Rosemarie Schnuerer)
Click below for more about
Read next Up next: Buyers Guide 1991-96 Acura NSX

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *