Blue Dot Taillight Bill Reintroduced in Mississippi

The Specialty Equipment and Market Association (SEMA) sent the Hagerty Protection Network the following Legislative Alert this afternoon to share with our customers and agents immediately. If you have any questions regarding this alert, please call or email Rory Carroll, Hagerty Collector Network Legislative Director at 877-922-9701, x8787 / or Steve McDonald, SEMA Senior Director of Government and Technical Affairs at

Urgent Legislative Alert

Blue Dot Taillight Bill Reintroduced in Mississippi

A bill (H.B. 489) has been reintroduced in the Mississippi State Legislature by Representative Pat Montgomery ( that would allow antique vehicles and street rods to display a blue, violet or purple light as part of the vehicle’s rear stop lamps. The bill will be considered by the Mississippi House Transportation Committee.

We Urge You to Contact Members of the House Transportation Committee (List Below) Immediately to Request Their Support for H.B. 489

  • Mississippi defines antique motor vehicles as those manufactured more than 25-years ago and street rods as modified vehicles produced by an American manufacturer in 1948 or earlier and used as a safe, nonracing vehicle.
  • H.B. 489 recognizes that blue dot taillights have no detrimental impact on safety.
  • H.B. 489 enables enthusiasts to modify their vehicles to recall in fine detail the glory days of the hot rod era in America.
  • H.B. 489 follows in the tradition of similar laws enacted in other states, including recently in Minnesota, Illinois, Missouri, Rhode Island and Montana.

Please contact members of the Mississippi House Transportation Committee immediately by phone or e-mail to request their support for this bill.

Mississippi House Transportation Committee

William Miles, Chairman
(601) 359-3355

Henry Zuber III, Vice-Chairman
(601) 359-3353

Noal Akins

Mark Baker

Rickey Cummings
(601) 359-3337

Lee Jarrell Davis
(601) 359-9392

Blaine Eaton
(601) 359-3332

Erik Fleming
(601) 359-3374

Mark Formby
(601) 359-3364

Jack Gadd
(601) 359-5140

Phillip Gunn

Bobby B. Howell
(601) 359-3343

Joey Hudson
(601) 359-4073

Michael W. Janus
(601) 359-4074

Bennett Malone
(601) 359-3367

Warner F. McBride
(601) 359-2434

Harvey Moss
(601) 359-3396

Deryk R. Parker

Clint Rotenberry
(601) 359-2424

Bobby Shows
(601) 359-4076

Greg Snowden
(601) 359-2432

Preston E. Sullivan

Jerry R. Turner

Jessica Upshaw

Robert E. Vince
(601) 359-3363

J. Shaun Walley

Greg Ward
(601) 359-3354

Tom Weathersby
(601) 359-3336

Tommy L. Woods
(601) 359-3466

William Miles, Chairman
(601) 359-3355

Henry Zuber III, Vice-Chairman
(601) 359-3353

If you are experiencing any difficulty in contacting your legislators, please contact Rory Carroll, Hagerty Collector Network Legislative Director, at or 877-922-9701, x8407.

Please e-mail a copy of your letters to us at or fax: 231-932-6887.

Thank you for your commitment to the future of collector cars and the hobby.

McKeel Hagerty
Hagerty Collector Network

Click below for more about
Read next Up next: Barrett-Jackson: A Record-Setting Sale

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *