2021 American Speed Festival scores Motorsports Hall of Fame induction ceremonies

M1 Concourse

The American Speed Festival has found a grand way to kick off its inaugural event this fall: by hosting the Motorsports Hall of Fame 2020 and ’21 induction ceremonies. The events will be held on September 27 and 29 at the new M1 Concourse Event Center; the Speed Festival follows September 30–October 3.

“We couldn’t be more honored that the team at the Motorsports Hall of Fame of America has chosen M1 Concourse’s new event center to host these two prestigious events,” says Tim McGrane, CEO of M1 Concourse. “These induction ceremonies, featuring some of the racing greatest names, are the perfect bridge between Motor Bella the week before and the American Speed Festival right after. [There] couldn’t be a better way to kick-off a weekend celebration of automotive innovation, speed, and excellence: past, present, and future.”

Hall of Fame inductee Jim Hall (1994) will serve as the first “Master of Motorsports” during American Speed Festival weekend. Nicknamed “America’s Goodwood,” the event will showcase excellence in automotive engineering, design, and motorsports. It will feature more than 200 automobiles from around the world.

George Levy, president of Motorsports Hall of Fame of America, says bringing the induction ceremonies to M1 “is a little like coming home,” since the Hall of Fame was formally located in Detroit before it moved to Daytona. Levy says the combination of the new M1 Event Center and the American Speed Festival provide “a great setting … where we can showcase historic cars on a racetrack right outside the building.”

Motorsports Hall of Fame
Motorsports Hall of Fame/Thomas R. Miller

The 2020 Hall of Fame induction class, which was delayed due to COVID-19 restrictions and is scheduled for September 27, includes NASCAR’s first-ever champion Robert “Red” Byron (Historic); flat-track impresario Chris Carr (Motorcycles); early motorcycle racer, promoter, and publisher Floyd Clymer (At Large); driver, official, and safety advocate Wally Dallenbach, Sr. (Open Wheel); successful NASCAR owner Rick Hendrick (Stock Cars); Daytona 500 champion Tiny Lund (Historic); Can-Am and Rolex 24 at Daytona champion Jacky Ickx (Sports Cars); quarter-mile racing legend “Ohio” George Montgomery (Drag Racing); and Baja 500 and 1000 champion and SCORE World Champion Ivan “Ironman” Stewart (Off-Road Racing).

The 2021 induction class, which will be inducted on September 29, includes three women for the first time. Future Hall of Famers include Davey Allison, one of NASCAR’s 50 Greatest Drivers (Stock Cars); three-time land speed record holder John Cobb (Historic); three-time NHRA Top Fuel champion Larry Dixon Jr. (Drag Racing); Indy and NASCAR trailblazer Janet Guthrie (Open Wheel); 2006 MotoGP World Champion Nicky “Kentucky Kid” Hayden (Motorcycles); legendary Indy correspondent Robin Miller (Media); seven-consecutive APBA Gold Cup winner Fran Muncey (Powerboats); multi-time USAC and NASCAR champion Ray Nichels (Historic); and world-class timer/scorer Judy Stropus (Sports Cars).

Many of the legends being inducted will stay for the American Speed Festival, where they’ll be joined by other racing icons. We’re excited for this celebration of great drivers and their stories, and we can’t wait to celebrate the sport we love most in-person.

Share Leave comment
Read next Up next: Launch-edition Jeep Wrangler 392 Rubicon will drain wallets to the tune of $75,000

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.