Goodwood SpeedWeek 2020: What to watch and how

Share Leave comment
Aston Martin

Goodwood SpeedWeek (or, more accurately, Goodwood SpeedWeekend) begins this Friday with three days of on-track action at the historic British racing circuit.

After the coronavirus caused cancellation of its annual Members’ Meeting, Festival of Speed and Revival events, Goodwood has set the stage for a weekend of incredible racing and record-breaking. Unfortunately, the event still isn’t open to spectators, but it is in a sense open to the world at large as it will be streamed live online.

There will be two streams: the first is to be purely focused on the track action, while the second is an entertainment channel packed with mini documentaries on topics such as 50 years of the Range Rover and the history of Lotus. Refresh this page on Friday October 16 and you can follow the stream below.

The weekend will see classic wheel-to-wheel racing in the SF Edge Trophy, Glover trophy, Gerry Marshall Trophy, St Mary’s Trophy, Sir Stirling Moss Memorial Trophy, and the RAC TT Celebration. There will be one-lap Shootout, a Super Special rally challenge, a Driftkhana and a number of demonstration drives. There will be new car reveals, supercar parades, and tributes to Porsche at Le Mans, 70 years of F1, TWR and BMW Motorsport.

Among the stars in cars will be former F1-driver Martin Brundle, nine-times Le Mans winner Tom Kristensen, Rowan Atkinson, and Top Gear‘s Chris Harris and Tiff Needell.

For a full timetable of events visit the Goodwood website. In the meantime here’s our guide to the action. Oh, and don’t worry if you miss anything, all the key moments will be available on Goodwood’s YouTube channel.

For classic race fans

Friday 12.40 BST (07.40 EST/04.40 PST) SF Edge Trophy Part One
Friday 14.20 BST (09.20 EST/06.20 PST) Goodwood Trophy
Friday 17.25 BST (12.25 EST/09.25 PST) Gerry Marshall Trophy
Saturday 11.45 BST (06.45 EST/03.45 PST) Glover Trophy
Saturday 13.35 BST (08.35 EST/05.35 PST) Whitsun Trophy
Saturday 15.05 BST (10.05 EST/07.05 PST) St Mary’s Trophy Part One
Saturday 16.50 BST (11.50 EST/08.50 PST) Sir Stirling Moss Trophy
Sunday 09.50 BST (04.50 EST/01.50 PST) St Mary’s Trophy Part Two
Sunday 10.25 BST (05.25 EST/02.25 PST) SF Edge Trophy Part Two
Sunday 12.00 BST (07.00 EST/04.00 PST) Gerry Marshal Sprint
Sunday 14.20 BST (09.20 EST/06.20 PST) Lavant Cup
Sunday 16.45 BST (11.45 EST/08.45 PST) RAC TT Celebration

For Porsche enthusiasts

Friday 14.00 BST (09.00 EST/06.00 PST) Porsche Motorsport Pyramid
Friday 16.00 BST (11.00 EST/08.00 PST) Porsche at Le Mans Demonstration
Sunday 17.55 BST (12.55 EST/09.55 PST) Porsche at Le Mans Demonstration

For rally lovers

Friday 13.10 BST (08.10 EST/05.10 PST) Super Special Part One
Friday 16.45 BST (11.45 EST/08.45 PST) Super Special Part Two
Friday 18.20 BST (13.20 EST/10.20 PST) Super Special Part Three

For F1 followers

Friday 16.20 BST (11.20 EST/08.20 PST) Formula 1’s 70th Anniversary Demonstration
Sunday 09.10 BST (04.10 EST/01.10 PST) Formula 1’s 70th Anniversary Demonstration

For speed freaks

Saturday 14.10 BST (09.10 EST/06.10 PST) The Shootout
Saturday 16.05 BST (11.05 EST/08.05 PST) Michelin Supercar Run
Sunday 11.05 BST (06.05 EST/03.05 PST) The Shootout
Sunday 15.00 BST (10.00 EST/07.00 PST) Lap Record Demonstration
Sunday 15.05 BST (10.05 EST/07.05 PST) The Shootout Finale

For drifters

Saturday 12.55 BST (07.55 EST/04.55 PST) Driftkhana Part One
Saturday 15.35 BST (10.35 EST/07.35 PST) Driftkhana Part Two
Sunday 13.08 BST (08.08 EST/05.08 PST) Driftkhana Part Three

  • 1
  • /
  • 3

Comments

Share Leave comment
Read next Up next: Can this man save Pininfarina?