4 August 2005

No Collector Car Left Behind - Legislation H.B. 4362 Revised

Proposed Model Legislation for Historic and Collector Vehicle Registration in Michigan

“No Collector Car Left Behind” H.B. 4362

In enacting this section, it is the intention of the Michigan Legislature to recognize the special value and significance of historic vehicles to the state, and also to recognize that historic vehicles, because of their limited use and easily identifiable characteristics do not require the same degree of regulation as other vehicles.

The department is authorized to specially register and issue special registration plates for motor vehicles valued principally because of their early date of manufacture, design, or historical interest or as collectors’ items.

In enacting this section, it is the intention of the Michigan Legislature to recognize the special value and significance of historic vehicles to the state, and also to recognize that historic vehicles, because of their limited use and easily identifiable characteristics do not require the same degree of regulation as other vehicles.

The department is authorized to specially register and issue special registration plates for motor vehicles valued principally because of their early date of manufacture, design, or historical interest or as collectors’ items.

Section 1.  Historic motor vehicles; registration, fees, license plates, use restrictions.

(1)   Registration and fees.  Any person who is a resident of this state and the owner or subsequent transferee of a historic vehicle or motorcycle which is:

(a)     30 years or older at the time of making application for registration or transfer of title, may upon application, register the same as an antique vehicle upon payment of a fee of $30 every ten (10) years.

(b)   Under 30 years old, but greater than 20 years old at the time of making application for registration or transfer of title, may upon application, register the same as a historic vehicle upon payment of a fee of $100 every five (5) years.

(2)   In order to qualify for this special registration, the person must also own and have registered in this state at least one vehicle that has regular registration plates and is used for daily, general transportation.

(3)   License Plates. A person who registers a historic motor vehicle will be furnished with registration plates of a distinctive design. These registration plates shall bear the inscription “Historic” and the registration number. 

(4)   Use Restrictions.  Vehicles registered as “historic” may only be used for participation in club activities, exhibit, tours, parades, similar uses and occasional pleasure driving. These vehicles may not be used for general daily transportation or commercial transportation.

(5)   An owner of a historic or an authentic registration plate at the time of enactment of this section can continue to use their current registration plate until it expires.

Section 2.  Collector vehicles; registration, fees, license plates, use restrictions.

(1)   Registration and fees.  Any person who is a resident of this state and the owner or subsequent transferee of a collector vehicle, including a motorcycle, which is between 10 and 20 years old, may upon application register the vehicle as a collector vehicle upon payment 75% of five times the ad valorem registration tax under section 801(1)(p) for a five (5) year registration.  In order to qualify for this special registration, the person must also own and have registered in this state at least one vehicle that has regular registration plates and is used for daily general transportation.  “Collector vehicle” means a motor vehicle, including motorcycles, because of its historic interest, significance, or limited production is being collected, preserved, restored or maintained by a collector as a leisure pursuit and investment.

(2)   License Plates.  A person who registers a collector vehicle will be furnished with registration plates of a distinctive design, which shall bear the inscription “collector” and the registration number.

(3)   Use Restrictions. Vehicles registered as “collector” may only be used for participation in club activities, exhibit, tours, parades, similar uses and occasional pleasure driving, but not used for general daily transportation or commercial transportation.

Section 3.  Authentic Plates. (Section 257.803p Authentic Michigan registration plate; fee; certification; registration certificate; transferability; validity; revocation of registration.

Sec. 803p.(1) The owner of a historic vehicle as defined in this section may use an authentic Michigan registration plate of the same year as the model year in which the vehicle was manufactured up to the year 1983 instead of a historic vehicle registration plate issued under section 803a by presenting the authentic plate number and year to the secretary of state at the time of registration. The owner of a historic vehicle may purchase an authentic Michigan registration plate from another person and restore the plate to its authentic condition for use pursuant to this section.  An authentically restored plate shall be considered an authentic Michigan registration plate.

(2) The owner of a historic vehicle applying to use an authentic Michigan registration plate under this section shall pay a fee of $35.00, shall certify that the vehicle for which the registration is requested is owned and operated solely as a historic vehicle, and shall certify that the vehicle has been inspected and found safe to operate on the highways of this state. The registration certificate need not specify the weight of the vehicle. The registration issued under this section is not transferable to another antique or historic vehicle.

(3) A registration issued under this section shall remain valid until the registrant, either sells, transfers, or scraps the vehicle or modifies the vehicle in a manner that requires the issuance of a new certificate of title for the vehicle under this act.

(4) After a hearing and for cause shown, the secretary of state may revoke a registration issued under this section for failure of the applicant to comply with this section, for use of the vehicle for which the registration was issued for purposes other than those enumerated in section ___ (new antique section number) or 20a, or because the vehicle is not safe to operate on the highways of this state.

Section 4. Personalized Plates.  The owner of a historic or collector vehicle may make application for a personalized plate under Section 257.803b.  Application for a personalized registration plate shall be accompanied with payment of a service fee of as follows:

For a historic vehicle over 30 years old - $165.00 plus the registration tax under section ___ (historic plate fee) for a ten-year registration.

For a historic vehicle between 20 and 30 years old - $90.00 plus the registration tax under section ___ (historic plate fee) for a five-year registration.

For a collector vehicle - $90.00 plus the registration tax under section ___ (collector plate fee) for a five-year registration.

Section 5. Michigan Catastrophic Claims Association Annual Assessment.  All historic or collector vehicles as defined in this section shall be considered “historic vehicles” for purposes of The Insurance Code of 1956 Act 218 of 1956, Chapter 500, Section 3104 (7)(d)(1)(ii).

Section 6.  Vehicle Insurance.  All motor vehicles registered as historic or collectible must carry at a minimum collectible vehicle insurance coverage.

            (a)  If an insurer notifies the Secretary of State of the cancellation or nonrenewal of collectible vehicle insurance coverage for a collector vehicle, the Secretary of State shall cancel the registration of the vehicle unless evidence of coverage is presented to the Secretary of State within sixty days.

-end-

PLEASE NOTE: If you support this pro-hobby legislation, please e-mail your name and city of residence to advocacy@hagerty.com or call Sydney McManus, Hagerty Collector Network Legislative director at 877-922-9701, ext. 8787. This will allow us to present a long list of supporters to the Michigan legislature and Governor Granholm. Thank you!

 

0 Reader Comments

Join the Discussion